Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies!

Finally, a successful recipe! I’ve left quite a trail of destruction in my wake this past week in my quest for a good new recipe.

Today, after a long day of job-hunting, I decided to take advantage of the light reflecting off the way-too-much snow we’ve gotten yesterday and today and bake something.

I pulled this recipe out of my bookmarked pages, bought some chocolate chips (which I was, surprisingly, out of!) and pretzels, and got to work. Making the batter is a bit time-consuming because the recipe says it should be refrigerated for at least an hour. I don’t know if it makes a real difference, but I popped it into the fridge and let it sit.

And the cookies are delicious. Like, “new favourite cookie” delicious. 

Here’s some observations, tips, etc. from my experiment with them:

  • I would add fewer chocolate chips next time. I love chocolate chips in pretty much anything, but these are pretty chocolate-heavy.
  • On the flip side, I want more pretzels in them.
  • Also, I used flat window-like pretzels, and I recommend them. They’re really easy to break, and the small flat pieces “fit” into the cookie well.
  • The cookies don’t “melt” into a pool for a flat cookie, but rather bake into small, thick cookies. This isn’t a bad thing, I just want to mention it, because it means you can bake more cookies per sheet and they won’t run together.
  • After 10 minutes of baking, they don’t look done. Or, they don’t get real brown like other cookies do. They tend to stay a pale color, though the edges of the bottom might brown a bit. But don’t worry, they’re done.

And now, pictures!

About redvelvetdreams

I'm just your average college student in Milwaukee. I study dance, speak Russian, do photography, and read constantly. I also love cooking for other people, especially baked goods.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Photography, Recipes, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

