New Year’s Bash

Happy New Year’s, everyone! My boyfriend, Jeremy, is having some people over today to get drunk and play Halo: Reach. Welcome to my life.

He’s currently working on frying spicy chicken wings between games, but I made some sweet tortilla chips this morning so people could snack before the wings were done.

I got the recipe from a blog I found on FoodGawker, but I apparently never bookmarked it, so I can’t send you to the exact page I looked at.

But it’s an easy recipe, so here we go. Forgive the crappy pictures; I just used my phone to save time.

What You Need:

  • tortillas (I used small flour tortillas, but any kind should work.)
  • butter
  • granulated sugar
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon

Step One:
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray. With a small knife or a pizza cutter, slice the tortillas into triangle pieces. (I guess you could cut them into other shapes, but triangles are the easiest and doesn’t waste any tortilla.)

Step Two:
Butter the slices. Sprinkle brown sugar or a mix of sugar and cinnamon on each chip. (I used a lot to make them sweet. I also discovered that I like the brown sugar chips more than the sugar-and-cinnamon chips.)

Step Three:
Bake the chips. How long depends on how crispy you want them to be. Watch for the edges to begin curling up. Use a spatula or a fork to push them around on the tray to get a feel for how crispy they are. I tried not to let them brown, as once they hit that point, they taste a bit overcooked.

Step Four:
Put chips on a plate. Enjoy!

See how easy that is? Here’s a couple more photos from today’s festivities…

About redvelvetdreams

I'm just your average college student in Milwaukee. I study dance, speak Russian, do photography, and read constantly. I also love cooking for other people, especially baked goods.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Snacks, Sweets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

